Skip to main content
 

Academic Services Team: Home

The Academic Services Team has the following areas of work: Academic Liaison; Content Development and Discovery; and Scholarly Systems. The overall team is led by Georgina.Dimmock@northampton.ac.uk, Head of Academic Services.

Academic Liaison

This team is led by Cheryl.Gardner@northampton.ac.uk, Academic Liaison Manager, and liaises with tutors and students to identify key information resources for use within teaching and learning. They also offer literature searching, referencing and search skills support via drop-in sessions, one-to-one tutorials, teaching embedded within programmes and online resources.  In addition, they provide training and support to academic staff in the use of the online reading list software, Aspire. 

General contact: librarians@northampton.ac.uk

Michelle.Perrott@northampton.ac.uk, Academic Librarian, Faculty of Arts, Science & Technology

Joanne.Farmer@northampton.ac.uk, Academic Librarian, Faculty of Business & Law

Hannah.Woods@northampton.ac.uk , Academic Librarian, Faculty of Education & Humanities

Gillian.Siddall@northampton.ac.uk, Academic Librarian, Faculty of Health & Society

Content Development and Discovery

This area is led by Fiona.Watkins@northampton.ac.uk, Digital Resources Manager. Content Development focusses on the acquisition and licensing of academic information resources, while Discovery focusses on the maintenance of resource metadata and the analysis of usage data. 

Content Development

  • The Reading Lists team purchases content listed on the Aspire reading list for each module, as well as sourcing additional resources to support programmes and research. For more information see [link to the Reading Lists Page] or contact: readinglists@northampton.ac.uk
  • Digitisation are able to provide quality digitised extracts of key readings from journals or books, for inclusion on module online reading lists.  For more information see [link to the Digitisation page] or contact: digitisation@northampton.ac.uk
  • The Interlibrary Loans team can provide material (books, chapters, journal articles or conference reports), for individual students or staff use, which are not available in our print stock or via NELSON. For more information see Interlibrary Loans or contact: libloan@northampton.ac.uk
  • Additional contact: Christine.Dale@northampton.ac.uk (Collections Manager)

Discovery

  • This area focusses on ensuring information resources can be efficiently discovered and located by the provision of accurate metadata, as well as providing resource usage statistics to help inform resource purchasing decisions.
  • Additional contact: Cleo.Cameron@northampton.ac.uk (Digital Resources and Discovery Specialist)

Scholarly Systems

Led by Mike.Aynsworth@northampton.ac.uk, this team works closely with all of the above teams, and across Library and Learning Services and the University, to maintain, develop and integrate the University’s scholarly systems (NELSON, NECTAR, Aspire Reading Lists and the Library Management System). 

LLS Privacy Policy