You can use NELSON to search the Library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos & more. Login with your University username and password at the top right hand side of the page so you can access the full-text material and save your search results.
If the item is available electronically, you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.
There are two videos available to help you make the most of NELSON; Introducing NELSON and Using NELSON for advanced searching
Google Scholar is a search engine that provides links to full-text articles to which the University Library System subscribes or to articles made freely available by the publisher. Scholar also provides articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and scholarly articles posted on the web.
Did you know that you can link Google Scholar to full-text e-book and e-journal articles available on NELSON?
We have a video available for information on how to link Google Scholar to NELSON and to search it effectively.
Here are some of the main databases for business subjects:
ABI Global Contains journal articles from a range of subject areas including business, economics, finance and information sciences. Many articles are in full, with some abstract only. A list of included publications is available.
Business Source Premier is a business research database providing over 2,200 full text journals (including the Harvard Business Review), many with long backfiles. This database covers many subjects, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Emerald Journals Online Full articles from 120 business, accounting, marketing, health management, HRM and IS journals and abstracts of articles from many more.
Emerging Markets Case Studies is an online collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Cases are written by case writers working in or closely with developing economies, offering local perspectives with global appeal. This growing collection of over 250 case studies also benefits from regular updates throughout the year. To search the collection using the basic search option, enter keywords after journal-id:EEMCS (already in the box). Alternatively, go to Advanced Search and limit your search to Case Studies and Only content I have access to.
MarketLine Advantage offers a collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across major worldwide marketplaces. It provides access to company focused case studies, which offer concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies to help you quickly and easily understand what makes them successful. MarketLine Advantage includes macroeconomic data, strategic and company information, city statistics, company SWOT analyses, country PESTLE analyses and industry Five Forces analyses.
Mintel Major marketing database giving reports on UK consumer markets.
Orbis This database, provided by Bureau Van Dijk (BVD), covers data on very large companies globally (very large companies are those with an operating revenue 100 million EUR or more, assets of 200 million EUR or more, or over 1000 employees). Orbis includes 10 year financials, ownership data (down to 1% of shareholdings), company and market news, details of merger & acquisition deals and the ability to search by SIC codes. This subscription also includes EIU Market Indicators and Forecasts that helps you to gauge market size, future trends, growth potential and market risk exposure around the world.
Sage Business Cases A collection of case studies on a range of business related topics including Accounting, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Human Resource Management, International Business & Management and Marketing. Many of the case studies come with teaching notes.
Sage Journals Online Full text access to electronic journals published by Sage Publications.
Sage Video Over 60 hours of video are available in this extensive and diverse collection. When complete, it will feature approximately 145 hours of video, including in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing. View the very latest insights from marketing practitioners at brands including Kellogg’s and McDonald’s and watch management professionals, business leaders, entrepreneurs and marketers at work.
ScienceDirect is a full text database of over 1000 journal titles and is produced by Elsevier. It covers 1995 to the present and is a higher level database covering most subject areas. In order to view search results you will need to click on activate personalisation and complete the form the first time you log into Science Direct.
Taylor & Francis Online is the journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. The platform gives online access to all journals from Taylor & Francis and Routledge. A program of retrodigitization means they have articles going back just over 200 years. The collection includes over 1600 full text titles in science and social science subject areas.
Wiley Online Access to full-text journals published by Wiley Interscience. Some titles go back to the 1980s. Useful for most subject areas.
Using images to illustrate or make clear the description and discussion in your text is useful, but it is important that you give due recognition to the work of other people that you present with your own. ‘IMAGE’ is used to refer to any visual resource such as a diagram, graph, illustration, design, photograph, or video. They may be found in books, journals, reports, web pages, online video, DVDs and other kinds of media. A ‘CREATOR’ of an image could be an illustrator, photographer, author or organisation. We have a video available for using images in your work.