This site has been designed to introduce you to the tools and resources that will help you to research your assignments. This guide includes some useful links at the bottom.
Before you begin your research, it is worth doing a bit of planning up front. Consider your assignment question and the different search words that relate to this - these are what we would call keywords.
Try and come up with words that are meaningful on their own (words like Impact and Disadvantages are often unhelpful when searching). You can map these out in a way that helps you to carry out your searches and come up with different search strategies. Here is an example search table:
| Artificial intelligence | Higher Education | Learning |
|---|---|---|
| AI | HE | Development |
| Large Language Models | Universities | Students |
| LLM | Education | Student learning |
| Chat GPT | University | |
| Google Bard |
From here you can develop meaningful search strategies e.g. Artificial intelligence and Higher Education / AI and Universities and Students
Books are a good starting point for research, helping you understand concepts, theories and models and to introduce these in your work. However, journals are key sources in your academic work as they will go into more depth on a topic than books and will give you useful examples and contexts to bring into your work.
You can use NELSON to search the library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos and more. Sign-in with your University login to access the full-text. If the item is available electronically you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.
NELSON is a broad search tool, so for a more focused search you can search the specialist databases for business directly. You’ll find these listed under the Databases tab on NELSON. You can also use the links below to go directly to the databases that you'll find relevant for your course.
This link opens in a new windowA large collection of global business journals, news and other resources covering a range of disciplines, including business and economics, management, marketing, economics, human resources, finance and computing.
This link opens in a new windowA business database containing the full text of a range of academic and trade journals, some going back to 1965. Also includes company information and market reports.
This link opens in a new windowFull articles from 120 business, accounting, marketing, health management, HRM and IS journals and abstracts of articles from many more.
This link opens in a new windowA collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across major worldwide marketplaces. Includes company focused case studies, macroeconomic data, strategic and company information, city statistics, company SWOT, country PESTLE and industry Five Forces analyses.
This link opens in a new windowAccess to academic journals for a range of disciplines, including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
This link opens in a new windowOnline access to all journals from Taylor & Francis and Routledge. The collection includes full text titles in a wide range of science and social science subject areas.
This link opens in a new windowA broad, multidisciplinary, full-text academic database of journals, books and reference works.
