Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Resource Management and Organisational Behaviour Subject Guide

An Academic Librarian guide for students

Sage Business Cases

Sage Business Cases are a collection of case studies on a range of business-related topics including Accounting, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Human Resource Management, International Business & Management and Marketing. Many of the case studies come with teaching notes.

Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies

If you are looking for case study material then the Emerald  Emerging Markets Case Studies are an excellent place to start. This collection includes over 250 case studies from around the world, covering a range of accounting and finance topics. The collection can be accessed with your University Login credentials and each report may be downloaded or printed.

 

MarketLine

Any quick search within MarketLine will highlight any relevant case studies in the ‘research type’ menu.  You can use the quick search option to search for case studies specifically.  These are neatly packaged reports providing research and data.

Journal articles

You will also find journal articles that use particular companies as research examples. A good starting point would be business databases, such as ABI Global and Business Source Premier.  These databases cover both academic/scholarly research material as well as practitioner content, so you can find out what the researchers say as well as what is happening in practice.  Under the advanced search page of Business Source Premier, you also have the option to narrow your search down to the document type ‘case study’.  Also, when searching for journal articles on Emerald, it will also indicate whether an item is classed as a case study.

Texts and cases!

Look out for books that contain case studies – often these will be the ones with the Text and Cases subtitle. There won’t be as much of a selection when it comes to the companies that are written about but, if the book covers the topics you are interested in, then the examples may be relevant to you. If you are looking for a particular company, it would be better to search the journal databases.