Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Life Sciences Subject Guide

An Academic Librarian guide for students

NELSON

You can use NELSON to search the Library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos & more. Login with your University username and password at the top right hand side of the page so you can access the full-text material and save your search results.

If the item is available electronically, you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.

There are two videos available to help you make the most of NELSON; Introducing NELSON and Using NELSON for advanced searching

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides links to full-text articles to which the University Library System subscribes or to articles made freely available by the publisher. Scholar also provides articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and scholarly articles posted on the web. 

Did you know that you can link Google Scholar to full-text e-book and e-journal articles available on NELSON?

We have a video available for information on how to link Google Scholar to NELSON and to search it effectively.

Key Resources

In order to carry out focused research, you may find it more useful to search an individual database (for example, Medline or Science Direct). Depending upon your topic area there may be a number of relevant databases and it is worthwhile searching more than one as not all articles are listed in every database.

All databases can be accessed via your subject collection in the ‘Databases’ tab in NELSON or using the direct links below. To access most of the databases you will need to login using your university login details.

The list below contains key sources for your subject areas but there may be times when you need to search other databases. For example, if you need information on teaching drama, you may also need to search an education database. You can access the full A-Z list of databases covering all subject areas. You can check the subjects & categories listing if you are unsure which database to search for your topic.

Key databases for Life Sciences:

Using images

Using images to illustrate or make clear the description and discussion in your text is useful, but it is important that you give due recognition to the work of other people that you present with your own.  ‘IMAGE’ is used to refer to any visual resource such as a diagram, graph, illustration, design, photograph, or video. They may be found in books, journals, reports, web pages, online video, DVDs and other kinds of media. A ‘CREATOR’ of an image could be an illustrator, photographer, author or organisation. We have a video available for using images in your work.