The Library at the University of Northampton subscribes to a number of different databases and journals to support your academic studies.
NELSON is the tool that searches the library resources (both print and online). You can use NELSON to search the library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos and more. Login with your University username and password at the top right-hand side of the page so you can access the full-text material and save your search results.
You can use keywords to search or use the AI research assistant. NELSON will give you the full text by default. However, if you use the Research Assistant, you will see content that you might not be able to access. A useful tip is to add 'suggest resources I can access in full' at the end of your prompt.
If the item is available electronically, you’ll see a link to the full text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelf mark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.
Some resources are only available through their specific database, so you’ll need to go direct to them (for example, Statista).
As you develop your understanding of the topic, you may prefer to go directly to the databases. They often have subject specific filters that allow you to focus your research relevant to your topic.
The NELSON Research Assistant can help you get started with your search and exploring the topic.
Please note: The AMED website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine database containing allied and complementary journals and abstracts from 1985 onwards. Produced by the British Library. Good starting point for Occupational Therapy and Podiatry searches.
Medically accurate 3D images, movies, and animation of parts of the human anatomy of relevance to research in speech language pathology.
Note: Log in via the UK Shibboleth option, search for Northampton in the institution box and select University of Northampton (IDP): Follow the onscreen instructions to either create a profile or log in without your profile. Then, select Continue to site.
Please note: The CINAHL Ultimate website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).
Access to academic journals for a range of disciplines, including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities, business and finance.
Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries
Statista gathers data and insights from its own sources and partners, including useful health statistics from the UK Government. Its Research AI tool helps users find and access information in a new, easier way.
NHS England Digital houses statistical dashboards and publications relating to health and social care in England.
Hospital Episode Statistics (HES) is a database containing details of all admissions, A and E attendances and outpatient appointments at NHS hospitals in England.
This same data can also be processed and used for non-clinical purposes, such as research and planning health services. Because these uses are not to do with direct patient care, they are called 'secondary uses'. This is the HES data set.
HES data covers all NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) in England, including:
The Public Health Profiles are a rich source of indicators across a range of health and wellbeing themes to improve health and wellbeing, and reduce inequalities. With these profiles you can:
These profiles have been developed by Public Health England.
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health. Their website provides factsheets, publications and statistical information about key health topics.
These short videos have been created to help you access and use the databases to search for relevant information for your assignments. Descriptions about what the databases cover and links to access them are available on the A-Z Database list.
Click on the information icon next to the title of the video, to find out more about what the video demonstrates.
