Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessibility Statement

What is University of Northampton's Library and Learning Services (LLS) doing to make its website accessible?

Accessibility Statement for Library and Learning Services Websites and Platforms

This accessibility statement applies to online resources developed in-house by Library and Learning Services and online resources purchased by Library and Learning Services from third-party suppliers.  

This website is run by LLS. We want as many people as possible to be able to use this website. For example, that means you should be able to:

  • change colours, contrast levels and fonts
  • zoom in up to 300% without the text spilling off the screen
  • navigate most of the website using just a keyboard
  • navigate most of the website using speech recognition software
  • listen to most of the website using a screen reader (including the most recent versions of JAWS, NVDA and VoiceOver)

We’ve also made the website text as simple as possible to understand.

AbilityNet has advice on making your device easier to use if you have a disability.

In-house and third-party platforms and content from LLS

The LLS team has assessed our in-house systems and content to assess the accessibility of each resource in terms of the content and the navigability of the platform.  We aim to create in-house content and systems to meet the accessibility standards and the content we create should be compatible with assistive technology:

  • The A-Z List of Databases web page was developed in-house by Library and Learning Services and and is compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard has been checked for keyboard navigation, contrast errors and tested with screen reader extensions.
  • The Exam Papers Database was developed in-house and  is compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard and has been checked for keyboard navigation, contrast errors and tested with screen reader extensions. Papers are in PDF format and those created before 2020 may not be accessible to screen readers.

Where we buy content and systems from third-party providers, we have tested the systems and content to identify accessibility issues.  Where possible we have implemented a fix or raised specific accessibility issues with the third-party provider. Depending on our relationship with the third-party, we cannot always guarantee its accessibility. We will make another assessment when the supplier contracts are up for renewal, and check tools for accessibility as part of our procurement processes. These third-party systems and content are listed below, along with the third-party supplier's accessibility statement, where available. 

  • NELSON (Northampton Electronic Search Online) – NELSON is a third-party platform provided by Ex Libris using the Primo software. NELSON has been checked for Keyboard navigation, contrast errors and tested with screen reader extensions. It is largely compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard. Please see the Ex Libris Primo Accessibility Statement.
  • The Library Catalogue – The Library Catalogue is a third-party platform provided by Innovative using the Sierra software.  The Library Catalogue has been checked for keyboard navigation, contrast errors and tested with screen reader extensions. It is largely compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard, some button labels may be missing and we are actively working with the provider towards achieving full compliance. Please see the Innovative Sierra Accessibility Statement
  • Aspire online reading lists –  Aspire is a third-party platform provided by Talis using the Aspire software.  Please see the Talis Aspire Accessibility Statement.
  • The A-Z List of Databases lists content that Library and Learning Services has purchased and delivers via third-party providers. These databases can be searched individually or cross searched using the NELSON platform.  For all databases lised, we have identified providers with and without an accessibility statement on their platform.  For those that have an accessibility statement, we have provided a link to their statement on the relevant database entry on A-Z List of Databases.  Where no link is provided, this is because the provider has not released an accessibility statement, but we are working with those providers to estabalish the accessibility of the resource and request accessibility statements.
  • The Library Website uses a third-party platform provided by SpringShare. It has been checked for keyboard navigation, contrast errors and tested with screen reader extensions. It is compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard.  Please see the SpringShare accessibility updates page.
  • The Skills Hub uses WordPress third-party software for the platform, with the content developed in-house. Please see the separate Skills Hub Accessibility Statement.
  • The University of Northampton’s Research Explorer is a third-party platform using Elsevier's PURE software.  Please see the Elsevier Accessibility Statement for University of Northampton's Research Explorer.
  • NECTAR (Northampton Electronic Collection of Theses and Research)  runs on the open source software EPrints version 3.3.16 and has been customised for our own requirements and branding. The EPrints Accessibility information pages show how and when EPrints plan to improve accessibility with their software releases – EPrints accessibility roadmap. NECTAR is partially compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard though we are actively working towards achieving full compliance. The parts of NECTAR which are not fully compliant with WCAG 2.1 AA standards prior to our customisations can be found in a list provided on the EPrints Accessibility information page Non accessible content.
  • NILE (Northampton Integrated Learning Environment). Please see the separate NILE Accessibility Statement.