NELSON (Northampton Electronic Library Search ONline)
You can use NELSON to search the library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos and more. Sign-in with your University login to access the full-text. If the item is available electronically you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.
This video provides an introduction on how to search NELSON.
To take your literature search to the next level, it’s a good idea to use the subject specific databases. These will allow you to use more options to focus your search. The databases are listed below and underneath them, you’ll see I’ve got videos showing you how to search them. You can also use the links below to go directly to the databases that you'll find relevant to your course.
Please note: The AMED website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine database containing allied and complementary journals and abstracts from 1985 onwards. Produced by the British Library. Good starting point for Occupational Therapy and Podiatry searches.
Please note: The CINAHL Ultimate website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).
Access to academic journals for a range of disciplines, including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods helps users create research projects and understand the methods behind them. It includes over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the “Little Green Book” and “Little Blue Book” series. Journal articles and videos are also included.
These short videos have been created to help you access and use the databases to search for relevant information for your assignments. Descriptions about what the databases cover and links to access them are available on the A-Z Database list.
Click on the information icon next to the title of the video, to find out more about what the video demonstrates.
