LLS Home: Computing Subject Guide: Key databases

Research databases

These databases provide access to journal articles that you can use as evidence to underpin your academic work.

ACM Digital Library ACM publishes 50+ peer-reviewed journals in computing and IT. They cover emerging and established research, practical and theoretical. ACM journals are led by thought leaders and published rapidly.
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Find articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
- This link opens in a new window
British Standards Online The British Standards Online provide full text access to selected standards along side summaries of an additional 39,000 documents.   If you are having trouble viewing the document, please download and install the necessary FileOpen plug-in.
- This link opens in a new window
Gartner Research Gartner offers research and technical solutions for the IT professional.
BioMedCentral Open repository of over 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
British Education Index The British Education Index is a comprehensive database of UK education research and practice from preschool to higher education, with strengths in educational policy, evaluation, technology, and SEN.
- This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text LISTA indexes over 690 periodicals, books, reports, and proceedings on librarianship, classification, cataloguing, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management. Coverage is from the mid-1960s.
- This link opens in a new window