LLS Home: Health Sciences Subject Guide: Key databases

Anatomy resources

Anatomy TV is an interactive educational resource on human anatomy. It provides interactive 3D models as well as text, slides and video clips. You can explore human anatomy in detail looking at different sections of the body. It also includes human anatomy and physiology which you can use to explore and revise different body systems such as reproduction and the nervous system.

Anatomy TV Medically accurate 3D images, movies, and animation of parts of the human anatomy of relevance to research in speech language pathology. Note: Log in via the UK Shibboleth option, search for Northampton in the institution box and select University of Northampton (IDP): Follow the onscreen instructions to either create a profile or log in without your profile. Then, select Continue to site.
- This link opens in a new window

Research databases

MEDLINE An index of 4600 biomedical journals produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, covering 1966 to the present. Useful for all medical topics.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycNET PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
AMED - The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine database containing allied and complementary journals and abstracts from 1985 onwards. Produced by the British Library. Good starting point for Occupational Therapy and Podiatry searches.
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
- This link opens in a new window
BioMedCentral Open repository of over 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection Over 2,000 online seminars by leading world experts, covering biomedicine and life sciences.
- This link opens in a new window