LLS Home: Public Health Subject Guide: Key databases

Key Research Databases

These databases provide access to journal articles that you can use as evidence to underpin your academic work.

CINAHL Ultimate CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
MEDLINE An index of 4600 biomedical journals produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, covering 1966 to the present. Useful for all medical topics.
ScienceDirect A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities, business and finance.
PsycNET PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).

Accessing the databases

These short videos have been created to help you access and use the databases to search for relevant information for your assignments. Descriptions about what the databases cover and links to access them are available on the A-Z Database list.

Accessing the databases Video demonstrating how to access the databases via NELSON using your University login.

Click on the information icon next to the title of the video, to find out more about what the video demonstrates.

Videos: searching the databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text: basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the database CINAHL Plus with full text. It shows you how to do a basic search with keywords, using the filters in the database.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Advanced search This short video will demonstrate how to do an advanced search using the CINAHL Subject Headings in the database. It shows you how to access CINAHL Subject Headings and combine searches to refine down the number of search results
Internurse: basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the Internurse database. It shows you how to do a basic search with keywords, and narrow down the results using the options available.
Maternity and Infant Care An introduction to the Maternity and Infant Care database, including a demonstration of how to narrow down your search using additional keywords and filters in the database. It also shows how to use the 'UON Find It' button to look for the full text of the article and how to complete an interlibrary loan request.
MEDLINE - MeSH Terms This video demonstrates how to use the Medical Subject Headings in MEDLINE to focus your search. MeSH or Medical Subject Headings are the labels that the database uses to organise the articles within MEDLINE.
PsycNet: basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the PsycNet database. It shows you how to do a basic search with keywords, using the filters in the database.
PsycNet: APA Thesaurus This video demonstrates how to use the APA Thesaurus in PsycNet to refine your search to Index Terms for a more focused and relevant search.
Science Direct database search This short video is designed to introduce you to the Science Direct database. It shows you how to focus your search using keywords, and the filters in the database, to refine your search to research articles.
Web of Science - basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the Web of Science database. It shows you how to focus your search, and use the additional tools in the database to look at citation reports.