2nd Year - LLS Update: Home

You can use NELSON to search the library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos and more. Login with your University username and password at the top right-hand side of the page so you can access the full-text material and save your search results.

If the item is available electronically, you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.

Databases are a way of finding journal articles (and other material such as book chapters, conference papers, theses etc.) on a particular topic area. They are not limited to the collections at the University of Northampton library and are often international. Information contained in databases will be full text or bibliographic:

1. Full text – the record includes a link to the electronic full text of the material which you can download or view online.
2. Bibliographic – the record includes reference details (e.g. author, article title, journal name, volume and page numbers) but not the whole text of the article.

Each database may look different, but the principles of searching them are essentially the same. You will usually find that you get the option to carry out either a simple or advanced search. Use a range of keywords to help focus your search on the results that are relevant to what you are looking for.

You can access the databases by using the links below, or following the ‘Databases’ tab on the menu at the top of NELSON.

The full UON Harvard Referencing Guide provides details and examples about how to cite in the text of your work, how to format your references and what to do if information is missing. Additional guidance and advice on referencing is available on the Skills Hub.