This site has a couple of activities I think you will find helpful. These explore the variety of academic literature you may come across and give you some hints and tips to help you explore and identify relevant research from the abstracts.
This online activity is designed to help you understand and evaluate journal article abstracts to focus reading and research on the most relevant resources.
This tutorial is designed to help you understand the main types of academic literature and how you can use them in your academic work. Knowing which type of literature to look at for the information you need will make your research more effective and save you time.
NELSON (Northampton Electronic Library Search ONline)
You can use NELSON to search the library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos and more. Sign-in with your University login to access the full-text. If the item is available electronically you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.
If you want to find subject specific resources, you can also search the specialist databases directly. You’ll find these listed under the Databases tab on NELSON and most allow you to sign-in using your University login. You can also use the links below to go directly to the databases that you'll find relevant to your Nursing course.
We have a new collection of eBooks available through ClinicalKey Student Nursing and Midwifery collection. You can search across the collection using the link below. You will need to register the first time you use the resource.
The NELSON Research Assistant can help you get started with your search and exploring the topic.
Please note: The CINAHL Ultimate website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Access is limited to 20 concurrent users
This database is a comprehensive resource for research on pregnancy, birth, and the first year of life. It includes over 120,000 references to journal articles, books, and grey literature from over 550 international sources. Coverage is from the mid-1980s.
Please note: The MEDLINE website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
An index of 4600 biomedical journals produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, covering 1966 to the present. Useful for all medical topics.
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities, business and finance.
These short videos have been created to help you access and use the databases to search for relevant information for your assignments. Descriptions about what the databases cover and links to access them are available on the A-Z Database list.
Click on the information icon next to the title of the video, to find out more about what the video demonstrates.
