In order to carry out focused research, you may find it more useful to search an individual database (for example, CINAHL Ultimate or Science Direct). Depending upon your topic area there may be a number of relevant databases and it is worthwhile searching more than one as not all articles are listed in every database.
All databases can be accessed via your subject collection in the ‘A-Z Databases’ tab in NELSON or using the direct links below. To access most of the databases you will need to login using your university login details.
The list below contains key sources for your subject areas but there may be times when you need to search other databases. For example, if you are looking at support for young people with learning difficulties at school, you may also need to search an education database. You can access the full A-Z list of databases covering all subject areas. You can check the subjects and categories listing if you are unsure which database to search for your topic.
Please note: The CINAHL Ultimate website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).
Please note: The MEDLINE website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
An index of 4600 biomedical journals produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, covering 1966 to the present. Useful for all medical topics.
Please note: The Education Source Ultimate website will be migrated to a new user interface (UI) on August 5, 2025. Please visit their Help page for guidance on using the new UI.
Education Source Ultimate is a comprehensive resource for education research, including articles, books, and conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes a range of topics including education ethics, educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more, with access to 2,113 active full-text education journals.
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities, business and finance.
These short videos have been created to help you access and use the databases to search for relevant information for your assignments. Descriptions about what the databases cover and links to access them are available on the A-Z Database list.
Click on the information icon next to the title of the video, to find out more about what the video demonstrates.
