Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Leather Collection: Home

The University of Northampton has a specialist collection of books and journals to support our students and staff based at the University's Institute of Creative Leather Technologies (ICLT).   This collection is known as  "the Leather Collection" and is made up of books and journals that are all about using leather and its products. 

Print items on student reading lists and the latest year of current leather journals, are housed in the library collection within the Learning Hub at Waterside.  However, older journals and books not on student reading lists, are housed within the National Leather Collection. This is a museum that is located in Northampton's Grosvenor Centre on Market Square. 

If you need to access one of the these books or journals, use Nelson to search for it by title or author. You will then see a list of results, telling you where the item is located:

A catalogue entry for a book held at the Grosvenor Centre

A catalogue entry for a book held at Waterside

If the item is at "Waterside", then please come along and borrow it or use it onsite in the normal way. If the item says it is located at the "Grosvenor Leather Collection" this means it is held at the National Leather Collection (NLC). Material held at the National Leather Centre is reference and cannot be borrowed, but you can arrange to visit and use it on site by emailing library@nationalleathercollection.orgVisits will be arranged during the NLC weekday opening hours, which are Monday - Thursday, 10:00 - 16:00.  

Due to Covid, the National Leather Centre is not currently open to visitors, but arrangements can be made to bring the item to Waterside for you to view here. Please email libraryhelp@northampton.ac.uk to arrange this.

Material held at the National Leather Centre is reference and cannot be borrowed, so we will contact you to make an appointment to view it when it has been received from them.

University of Northampton Student Reading List Items

You should be able to find all items from your Leather Technology or Leatherseller's Diploma reading lists at Waterside. If, however, you find that the item from your reading list is not at Waterside, please email libraryhelp@northampton.ac.uk or on 01604 893089 and we will collect the item and deliver it to Waterside for you.