LLS Home: Occupational Therapy Subject Guide: Key databases

Anatomy resources

Anatomy TV is an interactive educational resource on human anatomy. It provides interactive 3D models as well as text, slides and video clips. You can explore human anatomy in detail looking at different sections of the body. It also includes human anatomy and physiology which you can use to explore and revise different body systems such as reproduction and the nervous system.

Anatomy TV Medically accurate 3D images, movies, and animation of parts of the human anatomy of relevance to research in speech language pathology. Note: Log in via the UK Shibboleth option, search for Northampton in the institution box and select University of Northampton (IDP): Follow the onscreen instructions to either create a profile or log in without your profile. Then, select Continue to site.
- This link opens in a new window

eBooks

These databases contain some key e-Books which you can access with your University login.

ClinicalKey Student Medicines Access to over 200 acclaimed textbooks covering 40 medical specialties, including Gray's Anatomy for Students and Medical Physiology. You also have access to interactive tools including videos for practical demonstration and over 85,000 high resolutions images. If this is your first time accessing ClinicalKey, you may need to register with the service. Please register using your university student email address. University student email address take the form: YourFirstName.YourLastName_First_enrolment_year@my.northampton.ac.uk. So if you were Jane Smith and you started at the University of Northampton in 2019, your email address would be: jane.smith19@my.northampton.ac.uk You will only need to register with ClinicalKey once. Once registered choose "Sign in via my institution" and choose University of Northampton.
- This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey Student Nursing & Midwifery Access to core nursing and midwifery content and interactive tools including videos for practical demonstration and over 85,000 high resolutions images. If this is your first time accessing ClinicalKey, you may need to register with the service. Please register using your university student email address. University student email address take the form: YourFirstName.YourLastName_First_enrolment_year@my.northampton.ac.uk. So if you were Jane Smith and you started at the University of Northampton in 2019, your email address would be: jane.smith19@my.northampton.ac.uk You will only need to register with ClinicalKey once. Once registered choose "Sign in via my institution" and choose University of Northampton.
- This link opens in a new window

Key Research Databases

These databases provide access to journal articles that you can use as evidence to underpin your academic work.

AMED - The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine database containing allied and complementary journals and abstracts from 1985 onwards. Produced by the British Library. Good starting point for Occupational Therapy and Podiatry searches.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Health Professionals MAG Online Library's Health Professionals package offers peer-reviewed content in medicine, dental care, paramedic practice and occupational and physical therapy.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE An index of 4600 biomedical journals produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, covering 1966 to the present. Useful for all medical topics.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycNET PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).
- This link opens in a new window

Accessing the databases

These short videos have been created to help you access and use the databases to search for relevant information for your assignments. Descriptions about what the databases cover and links to access them are available on the A-Z Database list.

Accessing the databases Video demonstrating how to access the databases via NELSON using your University login.

Click on the information icon next to the title of the video, to find out more about what the video demonstrates.

Videos: searching the databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text: basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the database CINAHL Plus with full text. It shows you how to do a basic search with keywords, using the filters in the database.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Advanced search This short video will demonstrate how to do an advanced search using the CINAHL Subject Headings in the database. It shows you how to access CINAHL Subject Headings and combine searches to refine down the number of search results
Internurse: basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the Internurse database. It shows you how to do a basic search with keywords, and narrow down the results using the options available.
Maternity and Infant Care An introduction to the Maternity and Infant Care database, including a demonstration of how to narrow down your search using additional keywords and filters in the database. It also shows how to use the 'UON Find It' button to look for the full text of the article and how to complete an interlibrary loan request.
MEDLINE - MeSH Terms This video demonstrates how to use the Medical Subject Headings in MEDLINE to focus your search. MeSH or Medical Subject Headings are the labels that the database uses to organise the articles within MEDLINE.
PsycNet: basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the PsycNet database. It shows you how to do a basic search with keywords, using the filters in the database.
PsycNet: APA Thesaurus This video demonstrates how to use the APA Thesaurus in PsycNet to refine your search to Index Terms for a more focused and relevant search.
Science Direct database search This short video is designed to introduce you to the Science Direct database. It shows you how to focus your search using keywords, and the filters in the database, to refine your search to research articles.
Web of Science - basic search This short video is designed to introduce you to the Web of Science database. It shows you how to focus your search, and use the additional tools in the database to look at citation reports.