PSC2017 - Finding and Using Research: Home

This site has a couple of activities that I think you will find useful. These explore the variety of academic literature you may come across and give you some hints and tips to help you explore and identify relevant research from the abstracts. 

1. Understanding Abstracts: This online activity is designed to help you understand and evaluate journal article abstracts to focus reading and research on the most relevant resources. It will take approximately 15 minutes to complete.
2. Understanding Academic Sources: This tutorial is designed to help you understand the main types of academic literature and how you can use them in your academic work. Knowing which type of literature to look at for the information you need will make your research more effective and save you time. This tutorial will take approximately 15 minutes to complete.

NELSON (Northampton Electronic Library Search ONline)

You can use NELSON to search the library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos and more. Sign-in with your University login to access the full-text. If the item is available electronically you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.

If you want to find subject specific resources, you can also search the specialist databases directly. You’ll find these listed under the Databases tab on NELSON and most allow you to sign-in using your University login. You can also use the links below to go directly to the databases that you'll find relevant to your Nursing course.

We have a new collection of eBooks available through ClinicalKey Student "Nursing and Midwifery" and "Medicine" collections. You can search across the collection using the link below. You will need to register the first time you use the resource.