LLS Home: Psychology and Counselling Subject Guide: Key databases

Key Research Databases

PsycNET
- This link opens in a new window
PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).
CINAHL Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
MEDLINE
- This link opens in a new window
An index of 4600 biomedical journals produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, covering 1966 to the present. Useful for all medical topics.
SAGE Video
- This link opens in a new window
Cutting-edge pedagogical and research-oriented streaming videos developed in partnership with leading academics, societies, and practitioners. Collections include: Business & Management, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Education, and Psychology.
DSM-5 - Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5Â®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary resources cover a range of different subject areas. They can be useful when you want to research a topic in depth or if your research overlaps with other subject areas.

SAGE Journals Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to academic journals for a range of disciplines, including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Taylor & Francis Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to all journals from Taylor & Francis and Routledge. The collection includes full text titles in a wide range of science and social science subject areas.
Emerald Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Full articles from 120 business, accounting, marketing, health management, HRM and IS journals and abstracts of articles from many more.
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities, business and finance.
Sociology Database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.