LLS Home: Social Work and Social Care Subject Guide: Key databases

Key Research Databases

Social Policy and Practice
Access is limited to 8 concurrent users
Social Policy and Practice represents an important source of evidence-based social science research for policy-makers, practitioners, educators and students working within economic and social development, social administration, social services, and care management.
Research in Practice
Offers access to peer-reviewed publications, multimedia learning resources, engagement activities and support in a fast-changing social care policy and practice landscape.
You will need to register for an account with using your student University email or your staff university email to access the resource. When registering it is recommended to enter minimal information, for example Member for Job Title and University for Department.

Privacy note: this site uses third party tracking cookies so it is recommended to deny all cookies when prompted.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
SAGE Journals Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to academic journals for a range of disciplines, including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Taylor & Francis Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to all journals from Taylor & Francis and Routledge. The collection includes full text titles in a wide range of science and social science subject areas.
CINAHL Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
PsycNET
- This link opens in a new window
PsycNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of APA journals).