Africabib consists of two bibliographic databases and a bibliography: the Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database covering Africana periodical literature is an English language database indexing over 50,000 articles from over 415 English language and multi-lingual journals that specialise in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent; the African Women's Bibliographic Database contains over 30,000 items from various types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honours papers; conference papers; and videocassettes. The bibliography coverage is on women travellers and explorers to Africa and is called Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2006: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography.
AfricArXiv is a community-led digital archive for African research, working towards building an African-owned open scholarly repository; a knowledge commons of African scholarly works to catalyze the African Renaissance. We partner with established scholarly repository services to provide a platform for African scientists of any discipline to present their research findings and connect with other researchers on the African continent and globally.
The Africa Portal is a research repository and an expert analysis hub on African affairs. It is dedicated to publishing and promoting research and analysis African from think tanks and thought leaders (academics, researchers, journalists and industry experts) on policy issues across a variety of fields. It also produces thematic series on critical issues dominating the African and global policy agenda. The open-access research repository holds over 9,000 reports, occasional papers and policy briefs which are available for free, full-text download.
The Black Women Radicals database
The Black Women Radicals Database (BWRD) historizes and visualizes Black women’s radical political activism in Africa and in the African Diaspora in efforts to build academic, political, and community engagement, dialogue, knowledge production, research, and education about Black women’s significant legacies as socio-political agents of radical change. By housing a database of historical and transnational Black women activists and leaders, the BWRD seeks to overcome the erasure of Black women’s political leadership, organizing, theorizing, and socio-political movement building in Africa and in the African Diaspora that has often been ignored in favor of Black and white cis-heteronormative male charismatic leadership, especially in the field of Black Politics. BWRD serves as a vehicle to center Black women’s historical political memory, scholarship, epistemologies, and leadership in socio-political movements that may not be taught in academia and in community and public spaces.
Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Our database includes over 50,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. Each document is selected by members of our editorial team.
Ethiopian Journals Online (EJOL)
Ethiopian Journals Online (EJOL) is hosted by Addis Ababa University. The objective of EJOL is to provide a platform to publish local journals online using Open Journals System (OJS) so as to increase participating journals visibility, and to the research convey through open access (OA).
Garuda : garba rujukan digital
Garuda is a powerful resource platform for discovery of scholarly publications in Indonesia, managed by the Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education of the Republic of Indonesia.
Global Electronic Theses and Dissertation Search
Global ETD Search searches over 6 million electronic theses from around the planet. Created by the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) the search tool offers a Google like search interface with advanced features.
Lens serves global patent and scholarly knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving. Lens is an extension of work started by Cambia in 1999 to render the global patent system more transparent, called the Patent Lens. Lens is a greatly expanded and updated version of the Patent Lens with vastly more data and greater analytical capabilities.
This database enables you to search for literature related to the health sciences published since 1982 in countries of South and Central America and the Caribbean. It contains articles from about 670 of the most well-known journals in the medical field and other documents, such as: theses, chapters of theses, books, chapters of books, congress and conference proceedings, technical and scientific reports and governmental publications. Some articles are available free in full text.
PakMediNet was created in March 2001, with the aim to promote Pakistani-based medical research and Pakistani medical journals on the Internet. PakMediNet also provides free help regarding reference search and biostatistics.
SciELO is an international pre-print server of Spanish- and Portuguese-language work. Primarily science and social science research.
WHO Global Index Medicus (WHO GIM)
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.