The Library at the University of Northampton subscribes to a number of different databases and journals to support your academic studies.
You can use NELSON to search the Library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos & more. Login with your University username and password at the top right hand side of the page so you can access the full-text material and save your search results.
If the item is available electronically, you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.
The University Library subscribes to a number of different databases and resources to support your research. You can access these directly through NELSON, using your University Login, and clicking on the Database option on the top menu. Depending on your subject and topic, you may be using a range of literature from multiple databases (rather than just Health or Social Work databases). Please explore the resources and explore which ones are useful for your subject area.
Hospital Episode Statistics (HES) is a database containing details of all admissions, A and E attendances and outpatient appointments at NHS hospitals in England.
This same data can also be processed and used for non-clinical purposes, such as research and planning health services. Because these uses are not to do with direct patient care, they are called 'secondary uses'. This is the HES data set.
HES data covers all NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) in England, including:
The Public Health Profiles are a rich source of indicators across a range of health and wellbeing themes to improve health and wellbeing, and reduce inequalities. With these profiles you can:
These profiles have been developed by Public Health England.
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health. Their website provides factsheets, publications and statistical information about key health topics.