This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some titles go back to the 1880s.
This link opens in a new windowCUP journals: full-text access to subscribed titles & backfile archive (varies from title to title, generally Vol.1 no.1 up until 2000). Strong in Humanities & Social Sciences.
This link opens in a new windowAccess to academic journals for a range of disciplines, including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
This link opens in a new windowOnline access to all journals from Taylor & Francis and Routledge. The collection includes full text titles in a wide range of science and social science subject areas.
This link opens in a new windowA broad, multidisciplinary, full-text academic database of journals, books and reference works.
We subscribe to historic newspaper databases in which you can search for news articles about national events, as well as issues of local and regional importance, letters to the editor written by the newspaper’s readers, including illuminating contemporary debates, aspirations and anxieties as well as obituaries and advertisements.
This link opens in a new window19th Century British Library Newspapers: full runs of influential newspapers from different political & cultural segments of 19th century Britain, incl. Northampton Mercury.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe British Newspapers 1600-1900 is a comprehensive digital archive of historic British newspapers, with new conservation and imaging techniques providing unparalleled access. It also includes essays and contextual materials by expert scholars.
This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from 17th to early 20th centuries, millions of high-res page images. Topics: literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology & architecture.
This link opens in a new windowThe Burney collection is the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. It consists of newspapers and news pamphlets, mostly published in London. It is held by the British Library and is a valuable resource for historians.
This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is a searchable database of over 200 years of The Times of London, covering major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War.
This link opens in a new windowEighteenth Century Collections Online is a digital library of over 33 million pages from more than 180,000 books published in Great Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. The collection includes works in 8 languages and covers a wide range of subjects, including history, geography, social science, fine arts, music, art & architecture, medicine, science & technology, literature & language, religion & philosophy, and law.
This link opens in a new window