The Library has the following History research collections held on the fourth floor of the Learning Hub:
The Northampton Collection: A collection of books, maps and historical documents relating to the history of Northamptonshire
The Historical Documents Collection: A collection of primary resources containing records, diaries, memoirs, parliamentary papers etc from the medieval period up to the Second World War, with a particular emphasis on military history
The Fowler Collection: A collection of approximately 3000 books and serials relating to sources for the study of English history, especially the medieval period, and the local history of Bedfordshire. It was the personal research library of G.H. Fowler, founder of the first county record office in England, and of the Bedfordshire Historical Record Society, to whom he left the collection. The main strengths of the collection are the published sources and the material on archives administration
Microfilm Collection: A collection of microfilm containing papers from the Mass Observation Archive, Census records for England and Wales, a selection of newspapers, including the Northampton Mercury from 1780-1820 and papers from the Cabinet Office. There are two microfilm readers, one of which can scan documents. Please ask a member of staff if you need assistance.
The University Archive Officially opened in September 2010, the archive houses the historical records of the institution. In addition to the collections that relate to the University and its predecessors, the archive contains several smaller collections that have relevance to the learning, teaching and research activities of our staff and students.