Academ
ic Liaison Manager
I lead the team of Academic Librarians, ensuring that we provide tailored, high-quality support for teaching, learning, and research across the university. Our goal is to help academics integrate essential information and research skills into their programmes, ensuring students develop the critical competencies needed for academic success and beyond.
My role involves strategic oversight of how library services align with curriculum needs, working closely with faculty to enhance resource provision, research support, and student engagement with academic skills.
I also work on collection development, ensuring that our library holdings remain relevant, diverse, and accessible, supporting both current curriculum needs and emerging research areas.
As the Academic Librarian for Law and Business-related subjects, I help both students and staff to make the most of the library resources and services.
I provide integrated teaching and learning in information and AI literacy, working closely with academic colleagues to enhance student learning. I support students with finding research and using relevant tools to be effective in their search for good quality information. I also help students with referencing and the ethical use of information. By attending relevant Student Voice Meetings (SVM), I am able to make sure that students have a chance to feedback any library matters, with me there to respond quickly.
I enjoy working with academics staff to ensure they have access to the resources they need to deliver a successful course and know how to build effective reading lists for their modules.
My Subject Specialties
Accounting, Analyics and Finance
Politics and International Relations
I support students and staff in Public and Professional Healthcare programmes, including nursing and midwifery. I teach information literacy skills, curate collections, and promote library services. With a master’s in Information and Library Management and extensive experience in education, I'm dedicated to lifelong learning and research.
My Subject Specialties
I strive to create a supportive and resource rich environment for learning and research in my subject areas of:
Art, Design & Photography, Journalism, Media and Performance, Fashion and Textiles.
Strengths in communication skills with both students and staff feature in session workshops, tutorial delivery, and liaison.
I actively promote the Special Collections, Illustrated book and the Artists Book Collections and manage collection development.
Installing confidence in students is fundamental to my approach - by developing their research skills to find subject specific sources, teaching information literacy and sharing technical proficiency in using specialist databases.
I have a BA (Hons) in Illustration and PG Cert in Information and library studies.
Subject Specialities:
Acting, Animation, Creative Film, TV and Digital Media Production, Fashion, Games Art, Graphic Communication Design, Illustration, Interior Architecture, Journalism, Music and Photography.
I'm passionate about helping students and academic staff build confidence in navigating information, whether through one-to-one tutorials, interactive workshops, or online learning resources. I design and deliver tailored support in digital literacy, information skills, and research ethics, always aiming to make learning accessible and engaging.
I enjoy working closely with academic teams to ensure library collections truly reflect the needs of the curriculum, and I'm the go-to contact for advice on resource provision and teaching support. I’m also involved in broader library strategy and quality processes, and love connecting with colleagues across the university and beyond to share ideas and improve the student experience.
My Subject Specialties
As the Academic Librarian supporting the Education, Social Sciences, and 
Psychology programmes, I am passionate about helping students and staff make the most of our library’s resources. Whether through one-to-one tutorials, interactive workshops, or engaging lectures, I aim to build students’ confidence in using the library and developing the research skills and information literacy that support both academic success and lifelong learning.
I also collaborate closely with academic teams to ensure our collections stay current, relevant, and aligned with evolving teaching and research priorities.
My Subject Specialties
As an Academic Services Support Assistant, I play a key role, providing administrative and project support across Academic Services. I help deliver library and learning services, assisting with inductions, community engagement projects, and student enquiries.
My responsibilities include coordinating events, managing bookings and appointments, supporting student experience research, and assisting with training and recruitment activities. I also contribute to maintaining accurate records, developing documentation, and ensuring effective stock management of library materials.
Through my work, I support both students and academic staff, helping to enhance the learning experience and ensure access to the resources and services they need.
I work alongside the Academic Librarians and my role includes:
students, such as So, here’s the thing…