Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Company Information: Home

Welcome!

This site has been created to introduce you to different sources of company information available. 

Company information freely available on the Web

When you are researching a company, it is worth having a look on the Web but, take into account that good company information is rarely free. Start with the company website to see what is available. If the company has a public facing website, have a look for any linked corporate pages, which are more likely to contain useful publications, such as annual reports, environmental statements, and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) reports.

Companies House is where companies must be registered in the UK. You can search the register freely for basic information, including company filings, such as employees and appointment dates.

MarketLine and Mintel

MarketLine is a global database offering data and information on companies and industries around the world. The following video shows you how to search this resource for company information.

 

Mintel is a market research database and we have access to UK content and reports on a range of consumer topics. The following video gives you an idea of how to search Mintel, but use the search box if you are looking for information on a specific UK company.

Case studies

Case studies focus on a particular theme, company or industry and can be found in journals, books and other collections. You may be able to find case studies on your company, particularly if it is well-known.  Here are some options:

  • Sage Business Cases are a collection of case studies on a range of business-related topics including Accounting, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Human Resource Management, International Business & Management and Marketing. 
  • Emerald  Emerging Markets Case Studies includes over 250 case studies from around the world, covering a range of accounting and finance topics.
  • In MarketLine, use the quick search option to search for case studies.  These are neatly packaged reports providing research and data.
  • You will also find journal articles that focus on particular companies. A good starting point would be journal databases, such as ABI Global and Business Source Premier.  These databases cover both academic research material as well as practitioner content. When searching for journal articles on Emerald, it will indicate whether an item is a case study.
  • Look out for books that contain case studies – often these will be the ones with the Text and Cases subtitle. 

Company financial data

If you are interested in company financials, have a look at Orbis. This database, provided by Bureau Van Dijk (BVD), covers data on very large companies globally (very large companies are those with an operating revenue 100 million EUR or more, assets of 200 million EUR or more, or over 1000 employees).

Orbis includes 10 year financials, ownership data (down to 1% of shareholdings), company and market news, details of merger & acquisition deals and the ability to search by SIC codes.

Useful Journal Databases