It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching your business assignments: Home
This site has been designed to introduce you to the tools and resources that will help you to research your assignments. This guide includes some useful links at the bottom.
Exploring keywords (10 minutes):
This tutorial explains the literature search process and helps you to explore keywords (an essential skill for finding information). It will take approximately 10 minutes to complete.
To work through the tutorial, use the arrows at the bottom right of the screen to progress through the tutorial.
Where to search
NELSON (Northampton Electronic Library Search ONline)
You can use NELSON to search the library’s books, e-books, e-journals, videos and more. Sign-in with your University login to access the full-text. If the item is available electronically you’ll see a link to the full-text online. If the content is available in print, you’ll see a shelfmark letting you know where to find the book on the shelf.
NELSON is a broad search tool, so for a more focused search you can search the specialist databases for business directly. You’ll find these listed under the Databases tab on NELSON and most allow you to sign-in using your University login. You can also use the links below to go directly to the databases that you'll find relevant for your course.
800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
MarketLine Advantage offers a collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across major worldwide marketplaces. It provides access to company focused case studies, which offer concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies to help you quickly and easily understand what makes them successful. MarketLine Advantage includes macroeconomic data, strategic and company information, city statistics, company SWOT analyses, country PESTLE analyses and industry Five Forces analyses.
Login via the Shibboleth option and pick University of Northampton from the list of institutions
Taylor & Francis Online is the journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. The platform gives online access to all journals from Taylor & Francis and Routledge. A program of retrodigitization means they have articles going back just over 200 years. The collection includes over 1600 full text titles in science and social science subject areas.
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols.