When a user uploads a media file to Kaltura, the original media file that is uploaded (known as the source file) is automatically converted by Kaltura into a variety of different formats which are more suited to web streaming. These converted media files (known as transcoded flavours) are the ones that people see when they play back a Kaltura video or audio file. Kaltura converts the source file into multiple transcoded flavours and serves up the most appropriate one upon playback, based on connection speed and device. For example, if you play back a Kaltura video and you have a fast internet connection and are using a laptop or desktop computer, then Kaltura will serve up a high-quality transcoded flavour. If you have a slower internet connection or are using a device with a small screen, then Kaltura will serve up a lower-quality transcoded flavour. Essentially, the purpose of having multiple transcoded flavours is so that you can play back the video or audio file without buffering.
Once the original media file that was uploaded (the source file) has been automatically converted into the various transcoded flavours, it remains on Kaltura but is no longer used. If there has been a problem with creating the transcoded flavours (which is rare) we keep all source files on Kaltura for one year from the upload date. After one year, source files are automatically and permanently deleted from Kaltura. However, all transcoded flavours are retained, therefore playback of your Kaltura media will be unaffected.
Once the one-year period has expired and the source file has been removed, it will no longer be possible to edit Kaltura media. However, it is possible to re-generate a source file from the highest quality transcoded flavour and to edit the media from this, although please note that the re-generated source file will usually be of a lower quality that the original source file.
With the exception of the source file (see above), Kaltura media owned by staff is kept on Kaltura permanently.
With the exception of the source file (see above), Kaltura media owned by students is kept for five years, after which time it is permanently deleted.